Harry Bradshaw's shot from a champagne bottle

harry-bradshaw-open

It's ironic that the glass bottle Harry Bradshaw's tee shot came to rest in during the second round of the 1949 Open at Royal St George's was made to hold champagne. Were it not for that cruel twist of fate, Bradshaw would have almost certainly finished one shot better than his final total of 283, which would have seen him take the Claret Jug by a shot in a career-defining champagne moment. 

harry-bradshaw-bottle

As it was, Bradshaw dropped a shot at that 5th hole, finished the tournament level with Bobby Locke, and lost in a playoff. 

Bradshaw should have known that the rules could have helped him. In all likelihood, we would have been entitled to relief. In failing to realise this, he passed up his big opportunity and would never finish inside the top-5 at a Major again. 

NEXT: 2. "The most unfair decision in golf history" >>