Masters Invites for Thaworn Wiratchant and Ryo Ishikawa


Billy Payne, Chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, has announced that Thailand's Thaworn Wiratchant and Japanese star Ryo Ishikawa of Japan have accepted invitations to compete in this year’s Tournament, bringing the current field up to 85. 

The field will include 21 different nationalities, 16 Masters debutants and six amateurs.

“Through our established qualifications, and invitations to select international players not otherwise qualified, we historically bring together a collection of the world’s top players, and this year is no different.” Payne said.

“The Masters has long established a tradition of supporting the global game, and we were excited to extend invitations to Thaworn Wiratchant and Ryo Ishikawa, who we hope will provide added interest and enthusiasm for golf in Asia through their participation in the Tournament.”

Wiratchant, who won the 2012 Asian Tour Order of Merit, will be making his first Masters appearance when he competes at Augusta National in April. He holds the Asian Tour record for most career victories, having won for the 15th time at the Hero India Open last October.

In contrast, Ishikawa will be making his fifth consecutive start at the Masters, with his best finish coming in 2011 when he tied for 20th.

Two opportunities still remain for others to qualify for an invitation to the 2013 Masters by winning a PGA Tour event that awards a full-point allocation for the season-ending Tour Championship prior to the 2013 Tournament or by finishing in the top 50 of the Official World Golf Rankings published during the week prior to The Masters.

2013 Masters Invitees

Thomas Bjorn
Keegan Bradley
Angel Cabrera
K. J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
Darren Clarke 
George Coetzee 
Nicolas Colsaerts
Fred Couples
Ben Crenshaw
Ben Curtis
Jason Day
Luke Donald 
Jamie Donaldson
Jason Dufner
Alan Dunbar
Ernie Els
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
Rickie Fowler 
Steven Fox
Hiroyuki Fujita
Jim Furyk
Sergio Garcia
Robert Garrigus
Lucas Glover 
Branden Grace 
Tianlang Guan
Bill Haas
Peter Hanson
Padraig Harrington 
John Huh Trevor Immelman 
Ryo Ishikawa
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Martin Kaymer
Matt Kuchar
Bernhard Langer
Paul Lawrie
Marc Leishman
Sandy Lyle
David Lynn
Hunter Mahan
Matteo Manassero
Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Phil Mickelson
Larry Mize
Francesco Molinari
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Jose Maria Olazabal 
Thorbjorn Olesen
Mark O'Meara
Louis Oosthuizen 
John Peterson
Carl Pettersson 
Scott Piercy 
Ted Potter Jr.
Ian Poulter
Justin Rose
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
John Senden
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh 
Nathan Smith
Brandt Snedeker
Craig Stadler
Steve Stricker
Michael Thompson
David Toms
Bo Van Pelt 
T. J. Vogel
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Tom Watson 
Michael Weaver
Mike Weir
Lee Westwood 
Thaworn Wiratchant
Tiger Woods
Ian Woosnam

Comments powered by