Rory McIlroy Wins British Golf Writers' Award


Rory McIlroy has won the Golf Writers Trophy, beating the winning Ryder Cup team, the Great Britain & Ireland Curtis Cup team, Ian Poulter and Roger Chapman to the award handed out by the British Association of Golf Writers.

The 23-year-old said: “The 2012 season was a superb one for every aspect of European golf and that comes across when you look at the names of the players in contention for the Golf Writers Trophy this year – therefore to come out on top of that list is a great honour.

“Throughout the year, wherever we play, the golf writers are there helping to promote our sport and give a voice to golf and, therefore, I am delighted to win their award. I hope to give them plenty more good things to write about in 2013.”

McIlroy also claimed a part of second place as a member of Europe’s Ryder Cup team.

The prize was closer than some of his other honors, with the Northern Irishman polling just under half of all first-place votes on the annual ballot.

The award dates to 1951 and recognises the most outstanding achievements during the year of golfers born or resident in Europe, and European teams.

This is the fourth time in the last six years that the trophy has gone across the Irish Sea with Padraig Harrington winning in 2007 and 2008, and Graeme McDowell in 2010.

Also featuring in the voting this year were Paul Lawrie, Justin Rose, Luke Donald, Matteo Manassero and Lee Westwood.

Recent winners include:

2000 – Lee Westwood
2001 – Walker Cup team
2002 – Ryder Cup team
2003 – Annika Sorenstam
2004 – Ryder Cup team
2005 – Annika Sorenstam
2006 – Ryder Cup team
2007 – Padraig Harrington
2008 – Padraig Harrington
2009 – Lee Westwood
2010 – Graeme McDowell
2011 – Luke Donald
2012 – Rory McIlroy