Catch every second of the Open live on Sky Sports


The wait is nearly over. The 146th Open at Royal Birkdale kicks off on Thursday and you can watch every shot live on Sky Sports.

Full coverage starts on their new dedicated channel – Sky Sports The Open – at 6.30am on Thursday and will span more than 50 hours until the final putt is hit on Sunday.

New for this year is a HoleCam on the 18th green and a hawk-eye green reader on six greens. Fans will also get the chance to vote from a choice of three featured groups on Thursday – Padraig Harrington, Pat Perez & Thomas Pieters (9.36am); Henrik Stenson, Si Woo Kim & Jordan Spieth (9.47am); or Justin Rose, Justin Thomas & Louis Oosthuizen (9.58am) – with the most popular being screened live online and on the red button*.

Away from the course, the Open Zone is back by popular demand and includes a bunker for the first time, plus the super-tech Zen Green putting surface which can recreate putts from the course with single and double breaks.

David Livingstone will once again present all the action live from Birkdale and will be joined in the studio and commentary booth by 2011 Open champion Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley, Butch Harmon and Ewan Murray.

Now TV will be showing day one of The Open for free with a redeemable Sky Sports Day pass. If you want to catch all the action, you can upgrade to a NOW TV Sky Sports Week Pass for just £10.99.

*Voting closes on Wednesday July 19 at midday. 

Your 146th Open TV guide

Wednesday July 19

Live at The Open – 14:00

Thursday July 20

The Open Day 1 – 06:30

The Open Verdict – 20:00

Friday July 21

The Open Day 2 – 06:30

The Open Verdict – 20:00

Saturday July 22

The Open Day 3 – 08:00

The Open Verdict – 20:00

Sunday July 23

Game Changers: Open Special – 07:30

The Open Day 4 – 08:00

The Open Verdict – 19:00 

- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections.