Mickelson eleborates on rules gaff

Published:

Phil Mickelson has elaborated on moment of madness at the US Open, where he hit a moving ball, saying “hopefully one day we can laugh about it”.

Lefty was at a charity event in conjunction with his sponsor KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, where he was quizzed about the incident at Shinnecock – which he apologised for via text message last week.

“It took me a few days to kind of let my anger and frustration of the whole thing subside to where I could see clearer that it wasn’t the greatest moment,” Mickelson said.

“And since I apologized, the best thing I can do now is help promote the game in a positive way, which is why I’m here today.”

He later made an appearance on the Golf Channel, where he added: “It wasn’t the right decision. It wasn’t the smart decision.”

When asked whether he was worried about his reputation after the incident, he added: “I certainly wasn’t thinking of that at the time, but I have pretty thick skin,” Mickelson said. “I will probably hear about this for some time.

“Fortunately, I can take it and hopefully at some point we will be able to laugh about it.”