Royal Liverpool named as 2022 Open Championship host


Royal Liverpool has been named as the host for the 151st Open Championship from 10-17 July 2022.

Royal Liverpool has hosted The Open on 12 separate occasions, first in 1897 and last for Rory McIlroy's famous first Open victory in 2014. Tiger Woods is also a winner here, having claimed a five-shot victory over Ernie Els in 2006. 

Now, the course at Hoylake is set to follow the150th Open in St Andrews as it becomes the venue for the 2022 edition of golf's oldest major championship. 

"The Open shares a strong affinity with England's Golf Coast and following the success of the Championship at Royal Birkdale two years ago we know that there will be tremendous excitement among golf fans at its return to Royal Liverpool," says Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of the R&A 

"Its famous links has a cherished history and has produced a revered group of Champion Golfers, including Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy most recently. It will be fascinating to see who will emerge from the world-class field to lift the Claret Jug in 2022."

History of Hoylake

Hoylake first staged The Open in 1897 when Harold Hilton, a member of the club, won the Championship for a second time after his maiden victory in 1892 at Muirfield.

Since then, the historic links has witnessed some of golf's most notable players go on to become Champion Golfer of the Year including Sandy Herd, Arnaud Massy, JH Taylor, Walter Hagen, Bobby Jones, Alf Padgham, Daly, Peter Thomson, Roberto de Vicenzo, Woods and McIlroy.

The Open was last played at Hoylake in 2014 when Rory McIlroy famously completed a wire-to-wire victory by two strokes over Rickie Fowler and Sergio Garcia to become the third golfer from Northern Ireland, after Fred Daly (Hoylake,1947) and Darren Clarke (Royal St George’s, 2011), to win the Championship.

"We are thrilled to be hosting The Open at Hoylake again - the thirteenth to be held here. Support for world class sport in Merseyside and the North West is intense and passionate. Fans will turn out in force expecting another great winner to join the pantheon of great Champion Golfers who have won at Hoylake - Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy being the last two - a testament to the quality of our course that always seems to find the world's best golfer. Roll on 2022!" - Sir Ian Gilmore, Captain of Royal Liverpool. 

Future Open Championship Venues

2019: Royal Portrush, Co Antrim, N.I
2020: Royal St. George's, Sandwich, ENG
2021: Old Course, St. Andrews, SCO
2022: Royal Liverpool, Hoylake, ENG