Kaymer wins


Martin Kaymer won the exhilarating PGA Championship after a dramatic finish that saw a leading contender docked two shots.

A very close competition at Whistling Straits in Wisconsin throughout saw three players heading towards a play-off. But that was cut down to just two, Kaymer and Bubba Watson after Dustin Johnson suffered from a rule violation which moved him back to joint 5th.

After Johnson finished the round he found out he had broken the rules and shouldn’t have grounded his club in any sanded area, as it was clearly stated in the locker rooms. This meant that he suffered a two-shot reduction, leaving him two shots short of making the play-off with Kaymer and Watson as he chased his first Major Title.

On the last hole Johnson hit a long drive which faded to the right into the crowd. Jonhson walked up to his ball and found it sitting between people’s feet and on some hard-packed “sandy soil”. He hit the green and had a putt to win the event outright.

But before he could line himself up the official walked over and revealed the bad news: “You are receiving a two-shot reduction after hitting from a bunker”. Jonhson blasted “What bunker?”. After viewing TV footage in the locker room Jonhson noticed his mistake and said: “It didn’t even come to my head”.

Continuing from this Kaymer and Watson were told that it would be just them in the play-off. Kaymer said: “Okay, it’s only between us now, but it’s still sad to see.”

After the first two holes scores were even and the third hole was about to be played. Johnson hit his shot wildly into the water meaning Kaymer had to keep his cool and play on to win. Kaymer sealed the win and the 25 year old from Dusseldorf, Germany looked thrilled with the result.

Watson’s second place meant that he now had a spot in the U.S Ryder cup team while Kaymer has sealed his place in the European team.

- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections.