final open slots handed out


The Swede Fredrik Jacobson, Dane Thorbjorn Olesen and Americans Harrison Frazar and Charles Howell earned places in the Open Championship on Sunday.

Frazar and Jacobsen took the two spots on offer via a mini-money list on the PGA Tour that covered six events, from the Players Championship to the AT&T National. Jacobsen was the highest on the list who was not already eligible, following his maiden victory on the PGA Tour in the Travelers Championship last Sunday. Olesen and Howell were the leading non-exempt players at the French Open and AT&T National.

Olesen tied for second with England's Mark Foster at Le Golf National, but will be at Royal St George's on Thursday week by virtue of being higher in the world rankings. Howell tied for third with Adam Scott and Jeff Overton, both of whom had secured their places.