PGA Tour announce FedExCup sponsorship extension


The PGA Tour and FedEx Corporation have announced a long-term sponsorship extension of the FedExCup, guaranteeing the status of the season-long competition until at least 2027.

As the past 10 champions from Tiger Woods to Rory McIlroy shared their FedExCup memories on social media, it was clear a big announcement was looming. 

Rory McIlroy became the 10th Champion of the event last September, and as his dramatic ended the first decade of the FedEx Cup, this renewed partnership marks the next milestone for the event. 

PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan said: “The FedEx relationship has been invaluable to the PGA TOUR on multiple fronts for more than 30 years, beginning with its sponsorship of the FedEx St. Jude Classic,”

“The FedExCup revolutionized the fan viewing experience and competitive landscape of the PGA TOUR, establishing a cohesive narrative throughout the schedule and a compelling conclusion to the season with the FedExCup Playoffs.”

“We are proud to extend our historic sponsorship of the FedExCup, which has dramatically changed the PGA TOUR,” said Patrick Fitzgerald, senior vice president, Integrated Marketing and Communications for FedEx. “The FedExCup is the ultimate prize on the PGA TOUR, and the season-long competition has delivered some of the most exciting finishes in recent memory.”

As part of the sponsorship renewal, FedEx has committed $1 million in annual donations to benefit non-profit organizations. These donations will align with FedEx Cares, a global giving initiative, in which FedEx is investing $200 million in over 200 global communities by 2020 to create opportunities and deliver solutions for people around the world.

History of the FedExCup

The PGA Tour entered a new era when the FedExCup was introduced to the tour in 2007, giving season-long points which culminated in the first ever PGA Tour Play-off system.

Each year, golf’s greatest players compete in four play-off events before the eventual crowning of the FedExCup Champion. Last year, McIlroy beat out Dustin Johnson to the title with a dramatic Sunday finish at the Tour Championship in Atlanta. 

Having holed out for an eagle on the 16th and a birdie on the 18th, McIlroy forced a three-way playoff between Ryan Moore and Kevin Chappell. His eventual victory came on the fourth play-off hole, where he holed a 15-foot birdie putt to secure both the Tour Championship and the FedExCup. 

In doing so, McIlroy joined an impressive list of FedExCup Champions: Tiger Woods (2007, 2009), Vijay Singh (2008), Jim Furyk (2010), Bill Haas (2011), Brandt Snedeker (2012), Henrik Stenson (2013), Billy Horschel (2014) and Jordan Spieth (2015). 

How the players helped make the FedExCup announcement on Twitter

Click on the tweets below to watch the videos tweeted by the former FedExCup champions, recapping moments from their victories. 

Tiger Woods remembers FedExCup

Vijay Singh remembers FedExCup win

Jim Furyk tweets about FedExCup

Bill Haas recaps Fed Ex Cup win 

Brandt Snedeker remembers FedEx Cup victory
Henrik Stenson tweets about FedExCup
Billy Horschel posts about his FedExCup victory

Jordan Spieth remembers his FedEx victory

Rory McIlroy tweets about the FedExCup

DJ recaps how he came close to winning last year, tags PGA Tour for announcement


- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections.