Masters 2018: The Field


Countdown to the masters: All the qualifiers so far

With just over a month to go until the first Major of the year, find out who has qualified for the Masters - and how they've done so!

Currently, 13 Masters rookies are in the field, including PGA and European Tour winners Tony Finau, Patton Kizzire, Austin Cook, Wesley Bryan, Haotong Li and 2017 PGA Tour rookie of the year Xander Schauffele. The Masters also extended a special invite to Shubhankar Sharma, the 21-year-old Indian player who has won multiple European Tour titles this season and led two rounds of the WGC Mexico. 

But while the present field sits at 82, this number is set to change. Martin Kaymer, Brooks Koepka and Hideki Matsuyama are all doubts due to wrist injuries, and the last category includes the rest of the players from World's top 50 who have not already qualified, determined the week before the masters. Satoshi Kodaira, Dylan Fritteli, Chez Reavie and Cameron Smith are the four players that would currently get in through this qualification.

The last chance to qualify for those not inside the top 50 there is just one remaining PGA Tour event before the Masters: The Shell Houston Open. 

So who still needs to qualify?

There are some big names missing from the field so far. 2016 runner-up Lee Westwood, who has posted five top 10s in his last eight Masters starts, is currently ranked No.89 in the World, and needs a win if he doesn't want to miss his first trip to Augusta since 2004. 

Fellow well-known Europeans Ian Poulter (No.64), Shane Lowry (No.77), Chris Wood (No. 95), Russell Knox (No. 101), Andy Sullivan (No. 117), Luke Donald (No. 186), Padraig Harrington (No.188) and Graeme McDowell (No. 200) are also set to miss out. 

Jim Furyk (No. 181), Ernie Els (No. 613), Steve Stricker (No. 124), Brandt Snedeker (No. 76), JB Holmes (No. 91) and Keegan Bradley (No. 70) are among the other big names currently not included in this years Augusta field. 

Listed below is the full 82 qualifiers so far, in category order of how they made it in to the 2018 field. 

Angel Cabrera  Martin Kaymer Hideki Matsuyama  Austin Cook 
Fred Couples Dustin Johnson  Russell Henley  Ted Potter, Jr. 
Sergio Garcia  Brooks Koepka  Brian Harman  Tony Finau 
Trevor Immelman 

Rory McIlroy

Tommy Fleetwood  Jon Rahm 
Zach Johnson Henrik Stenson  Haotong Li  Webb Simpson
Bernhard Langer  Jason Dufner  Rafa Cabrera-Bello  Gary Woodland
Sandy Lyle Jason Day Francesco Molinari  Adam Hadwin 
Phil Mickelson Jimmy Walker  Patrick Reed  Charley Hoffman 
Larry Mize  Justin Thomas  Louis Oosthuizen Tyrrell Hatton
Mark O'Meara  Rickie Fowler  Wesley Bryan  Alex Noren
Jose Maria Olazabal  Si-Woo Kim  Billy Horschel  Matthew Fitzpatrick 
Charl Schwartzel  Doc Redman Kevin Kisner  Branden Grace
Adam Scott  Doug Ghim  Daniel Berger Ross Fisher 
Vijay Singh  Harry Ellis  Kyle Stanley Yuta Ikeda
Jordan Spieth  Lin Yuxin  Xander Schauffele Bernd Wiesberger
Bubba Watson  Joaquin Niemann  Bryson DeChambeau  Kiradech Aphibarnrat 
Tom Watson  Matt Parziale  Jhonattan Vegas Shubhankar Sharma
Mike Weir  Matt Kuchar  Marc Leishman   
Danny Willett  Thomas Pieters  Brendan Steele  
Tiger Woods  Paul Casey  Pat Perez   
Ian Woosnam  Kevin Chappell  Patrick Cantlay  
Justin Rose  Ryan Moore  Patton Kizzire 

How they qualified for the 2018 Masters

CATEGORY 1: Masters Tournament Champions
Angel Cabrera (ARG)
Fred Couples (USA)
Sergio Garcia (SPA)
Trevor Immelman (RSA)
Zach Johnson (USA)
Bernhard Langer (GER)
Sandy Lyle (SCO)
Phil Mickelson (USA)
Larry Mize (USA)
Mark O'Meara (USA)
Jose Maria Olazabal (SPA)
Charl Schwartzel (RSA)
Adam Scott (AUS)
Vijay Singh (FIJ)
Jordan Spieth (USA)
Bubba Watson (USA)
Tom Watson (USA)
Mike Weir (CAN)
Danny Willett (ENG)
Tiger Woods (USA)
Ian Woosnam (WAL)

CATEGORY 2: U.S. Open champions (Five-year exemption)
Justin Rose (ENG)
Martin Kaymer (GER)
Dustin Johnson (USA)
Brooks Koepka (USA)

CATEGORY 3: The Open Champions (Five-year exemption)
Rory McIlroy (NIR)
Henrik Stenson (SWE)

CATEGORY 4: PGA Champions (Five-year exemption)
Jason Dufner (USA)
Jason Day (AUS)
Jimmy Walker (USA)
Justin Thomas (USA)

CATEGORY 5: The Players Championship Winners (Three-year exemption)
Rickie Fowler (USA)
Si-Woo Kim (KOR)

CATEGORY 6: Current U.S. Amateur champion and runner-up
Doc Redman (USA)
Doug Ghim (USA)

CATEGORY 7: Current British Amateur Champion
Harry Ellis (ENG)

CATEGORY 8: Current Asia-Pacific Amateur Champion
Lin Yuxin (CHN)

CATEGORY 9: Current Latin America Amateur Champion
Joaquin Niemann (CL)

CATEGORY 10: Current U.S. Mid-Amateur Champion
Matt Parziale (USA)

CATEGORY 11: First 12 players (including ties) in previous year's Masters
Matt Kuchar (USA)
Thomas Pieters (BE)
Paul Casey (ENG)
Kevin Chappell (USA)
Ryan Moore (USA)
Hideki Matsuyama (JAP)
Russell Henley (USA)

CATEGORY 12: First 4 players (including ties) in previous year's U.S. Open
Brian Harman (USA)
Tommy Fleetwood (ENG)

CATEGORY 13: First 4 players (including ties) in previous year's Open Championship
Haotong Li (CHINA)
Rafa Cabrera-Bello (SPA)

CATEGORY 14: First 4 players (including ties) in previous year's PGA Championship
Francesco Molinari (ITA)
Patrick Reed (USA)
Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

CATEGORY 15: Winners of non-opposite PGA Tour events from previous Masters to current Masters
Wesley Bryan (USA)
Billy Horschel (USA)
Kevin Kisner (USA)
Daniel Berger (USA)
Kyle Stanley (USA)
Xander Schauffele (USA)
Bryson DeChambeau (USA)
Jhonattan Vegas (VE)
Marc Leishman (AUS)
Brendan Steele (USA)
Pat Perez (USA)
Patrick Cantlay (USA)
Patton Kizzire (USA)
Austin Cook (CAN)
Ted Potter, Jr. (USA)

CATEGORY 16: Qualifiers for previous year's season-ending Tour Championship
Tony Finau (USA)
Jon Rahm (SPA)
Webb Simpson (USA)
Gary Woodland (USA)
Adam Hadwin (CAN)
Charley Hoffman (USA)

CATEGORY 17: Top 50 on final Official World Golf Ranking for previous calendar year
Tyrrell Hatton (ENG)
Alex Noren (SWE)
Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)
Branden Grace (USA)
Ross Fisher (ENG)
Yuta Ikeda (JAP)
Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)
Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

CATEGORY 18: Top 50 on Official World Golf Ranking published week prior to current Masters

Shubhankar Sharma (IND)