Playing Captain Tiger Woods makes Presidents history with win over Ancer


With his singles victory over Abraham Ancer, Tiger Woods has now won the most matches in Presidents Cup history 

Tiger Woods had plenty to celebrate on the final day of the Presidents Cup. 

Not only did his team rally from 10-8 to win the Presidents Cup for the eighth consecutive time at 16-14, but he also earned himself another spot in the record books. 

Woods, who was just the second playing Captain in the history of the contest, was the standout performer for the United States side, winning all three of his matches. 

He and Justin Thomas won the solitary U.S. point of the first fourballs session, and paired up again to win their foursomes match on the second day of play. Woods then followed it up with a 3&2 victory over Abraham Ancer in the singles matches to earn the first crucial point for his side, and began taking off his hat in celebration before his ball had even found the bottom of the cup. 

With his three wins, Woods has now overtaken Phil Mickelson by winning the most matches by a Presidents Cup player, with 27. It puts his all time record to 27-15-1 from nine appearances.

It caps off an excellent final year of the decade for Woods, who gained his 15th major title at the Masters and matched Sam Snead's record of 82 PGA Tour wins with his victory at the ZOZO Championship.