Sergio won’t face ban after DQ for damaging greens

Published:

Sergio Garcia is set to avoid further punishment after apologising for causing damage to several greens at the Saudi International which ended in his disqualification.

Sergio Garcia made headlines at the weekend when he was disqualified from the inaugural Saudi International for ‘serious misconduct’ after reportedly causing damaging to five greens during his round on Saturday.

According to a report in The Scotsman, Garcia dragged the sole of his golf shoe across the top of several of the putting surfaces on the front nine in frustration, in addition to leaving a divot mark in the sixth green - which was still visible the next day despite the best efforts of the greens staff to repair it.

His behaviour prompted complaints from other players behind him, and resulted in the European Tour opting to disqualify him under Rule 1.2a - marking the first time a player has been disqualified under this offence.

A European Tour statement read: "Sergio Garcia has been disqualified from the Saudi International powered by SBIA during the third round of play under rule 1.2a, which allows for disqualification if a player has committed serious misconduct."

Garcia was accepting of the punishment given to him, and had apologised to fellow players and assured them it wouldn’t happen again.

"I respect the decision of my disqualification,” he said. “In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again." 

And now, according to the report, Garcia won’t face any further punishment (including not needing to pay back any part of his appearance fee money) with the European Tour’s Keith Pelley closing the matter.

“The incident is over,” Pelley said. “We have dealt with it. Sergio has apologised to the players and we move on.”