Sullivan and Wood headline as Golf Sixes teams confirmed


Ryder Cup stars Chris Wood and Andy Sullivan will represent England as they headline the innovative new GolfSixes event on the European Tour from May 6-7.

Wood and Sullivan face stiff opposition from all over the world in the shape of two-man teams representing Australia, Belgium, Denmark, France, India, Italy, Portugal, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, The Netherlands, USA and Wales.

The teams, which have been announced today, boast European Tour and Ryder Cup Champions such as ThorBjorn Olesen, Marc Warren, Nicolas Colsearts, Alexander Levy and Jamie Donaldson.

Chris Wood is looking forward to seeing home fans gather at the Centurion Club. He said: “Sully and I are good mates and I think we make a good team. We’ve both had amazing experiences in the past representing Europe at The Ryder Cup, and England at the World Cup of Golf.

“With the countries who are taking part, there could be some pretty intriguing rivalries thrown up and I’m sure we’ll see plenty of passion from the players and the fans. It’s a fresh, new format and I think that’s very welcome in golf right now. It should be an entertaining weekend, and I’m interested to see how it all works with the innovations inside and outside the ropes.”

Wood and Sullivan are not the only duo to have experience playing together, with the Thai pair of Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Thongchai Jaidee having played together during the EurAsia Cup last year.

Jaidee and Aphibarnrat are a duo that have played together before

The innovative new six-hole format starts on Saturday May 6 with teams split into four groups of four, similar to the UEFA Champions League football group stages, before the top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages – the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a 3rd/4th place play-off match and the final – all of which will be contested on Sunday May 7.

In the group stages, three points will be given for victory with one point given for a draw while the matches themselves will be played in a greensomes match play format. Both days’ play will be shown live on Sky Sports in the UK and around the globe on the Tour’s world feed network.

Ttickets to see them in action can be snapped up at

Full list of countries and players (in order of ranking)

ENGLAND: Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan

ITALY: Matteo Manassero, Renato Paratore

THAILAND: Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat

INDIA: S.S.P Chawrasia, Chikkarangappa S

AUSTRALIA: Sam Brazel, Scott Hend

DENMARK: Thorbjørn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard

FRANCE: Alexander Levy, Grégory Bourdy

NETHERLANDS; Joost Luiten, Reinier Saxton

SWEDEN: Kristoffer Broberg, Joakim Lagergren

SPAIN: Pablo Larrazábal, Alejandro Cañizares

SCOTLAND: Richie Ramsay, Marc Warren

SOUTH AFRICA: Darren Fichardt, Brandon Stone

USA: Paul Peterson, David Lipsky

WALES: Bradley Dredge, Jamie Donaldson

BELGIUM: Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Detry

PORTUGAL: Ricardo Gouveia, José-Filipe Lima