Ryu wins dramatic ANA Inspiration as Thompson handed four-stroke penalty


So Yeon Ryu won the ANA Inspiration on the first play-off hole against Lexi Thompson as trial by television hit the headlines once again.

Ryu, who carded a four-under-par 68 and birdied the first sudden-death hole against Lexi, said that there was a weird feeling to her second major title.

“I cannot believe the situation. I didn’t even check the leaderboard, Lexi was playing so well. I didn’t expect it,” she said.

“It hurts me as well, it is a weird feeling but at the same time I am proud of myself.”

Ryu jumps in to the lake to celebrate win

Thompson was leading by two when she was informed by a rules official on the 12th hole that she was to incur a four-shot penalty for her third round.

A viewer had called in and noticed she had incorrectly replaced her ball on the 17th green, resulting in a two-shot penalty and a further two-shots for signing for the wrong score.

Is this a joke?” Thompson said after being informed by a rules official, before making birdies on three of the last six holes to force the play-off.

Thompson had led by two shots going in to the final round and was visibly distraught, but somehow pulled herself together to bounce back with a birdie on the 13th hole for a share of the lead.

A bogey on 15 put her once again on the back foot, and she missed an eagle putt on the 18th for the outright win – instead forcing a play-off with Ryu.

The LPGA gave their statement via social media, but once again the rules of golf dampened the final round at a major. 

LPGA Statement

After her round, Lexi gave one of the most professional interviews following a loss like that – and then spent time signing autographs for fans.

It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it,” Thompson told the Golf Channel.

“I had to regroup myself, my caddie helped me out tremendously, we have a great relationship. I tried to gather myself and I made a great putt at 13.

“But it’s all to the fans, they helped me get through the rest of the round and I thank them a lot.

“I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me. I wasn’t expecting what happened today to happen and I will learn from it.”

Lexi reacts to news about ruling

Players react to Lexi Thompson four-shot penalty

It was no surprise that players took to twitter to show their anger about the situation, furious that someone at home was able to affect the outcome of a major tournament the day after an incident happened. 

Lydia Ko reacts to Thompson penalty

tiger reacts to thompson penalty

Alison Lee reacts to Lexi thompson

Gmac reacts to Lexi Thompson ruling

Natalia Gulbis reacts to Lexi Thompson ruling

Justin Thompson reacts to Lexi Thompson rule

Peter Uihlein reacts to Lexi Thompson ruling

- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections.