The Masters | US Masters

The 2019 US Masters is being held from the 11-14 April at Augusta National. This page brings you the latest news, updates, features and information on tee times and how to watch. 

The Masters Tournament, also known as The Masters or The US Masters, is one of the four major championships in professional golf. Scheduled for the first full week of April, it is the first of the majors to be played each year.

Unlike the other major championships, the Masters is held each year at the same location, Augusta National Golf Club, a private golf club in the city of Augusta, Georgia, USA. The Masters was started by Clifford Roberts and Bobby Jones. Jones designed Augusta National with course architect Alister MacKenzie.

The tournament is an official money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour. The field of players is smaller than those of the other major championships because it is an invitational event, held by the Augusta National Golf Club.

What's the course like?

Augusta is a tree-lined layout that suits players who move the ball right-to-left through the air, although it isn’t vital. There’s pine straw under the trees and the greens are undulating.

The Masters Timeline

1931 Fruitland Nurseries is purchased by Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts as the site of Augusta National GC. Dr Alister MacKenzie is hired as architect and construction begins.

1934 Horton Smith becomes the inaugural Masters champion and Ross Somerville records the fi rst hole-in-one on the 16th. 72 golfers competed; 60 professionals and 12 amateurs. The tournament marks the first nationwide radio broadcast in America and the first 72-hole competition to be played on four consecutive days.

1937 Members begin to wear Green Jackets so they can be more easily recognised by patrons.

1939 The tournament is officially named the Masters. Bobby Jones said: "The tournament is now quite well entitled to be called the Masters, because it has continued to assemble those who are entitled to be called masters of the game."

1943-45 The club is closed during the War years and allows the course grounds to be used for raising cattle and turkeys in support of the War effort.

1949 The first Green Jacket presentation is held, honouring winner Sam Snead. Until the tradition was introduced at the 13th event only members could wear Green Jackets. The club extended the tradition to champions to indicate they would become honorary members.

1952 The first Champions Dinner is held, suggested by Ben Hogan.

1958 The Par-3 course is built.

1967 First overseas broadcast on the BBC.

1972 Patron badge list is closed and a waiting list established.

1975 Lee Elder becomes first African-American player at the Masters.

1976 Sudden-death play-off format announced.

1980 Seve Ballesteros becomes first European to win at just 23. Greens changed from Bermuda to bent grass.

1986 At 46 Jack Nicklaus wins his sixth Green Jacket and becomes the oldest champion ever. Nick Price sets new course record of 63.

1997 Tiger Woods becomes the youngest ever champion and records the lowest 72-hole total and widest victory margin at just 21.

2010 Just shy of 17, Matteo Manassero becomes the youngest ever competitor and makes the cut. New practice range is used and the event broadcast in 3D for first time.

2013 Adam Scott became the first ever Australian to win the Masters. 14-year-old Guan Tianlang became the youngest ever participant, making the cut despite a one-shot penalty for slow play.

2015 Jordan Spieth wins with a score of 18 under par

2016 Spieth tries to defend his title, but Englishman Danny Willett emerges as champion

2017 Sergio Garcia becomes a major champion for the first time at his 74th attempt, defeating Justin Rose on the first play-off hole

2018 Patrick Reed held off challenges from Rickie Fowler and Jordan Spieth to win his first major title at the 82nd edition of The Masters