07 January 2013 Last Updated: 27 June 2013

By Jake O'Reilly

2010 Open Champion Darren Clarke and 2009 Masters winner Angel Cabrera are among four major winners set to tee it up in a new golf league in India next month.

The league, that could also feature Michael Campell, Rich Beem and David Howell, will be modelled on the format used in the country's Twenty20 cricket league.

It is the brainchild of Indian golfer Shiv Kapur, who said: "When I saw the Indian Premier League, I thought it made cricket look cool. I wanted to do the same in golf, without taking away the seriousness of course.

"It would be a great opportunity for the local players to team up with some of the big names. It would be an experience they would cherish for the rest of their life."

Simarly to the cricket system, golf stars would be auctioned off to compete with local Indian golf professionals during two night rounds of strokeplay and a final round of better ball.

Each round will be played over 14 holes to speed up the process, with the event scheduled between the 8th and 10th of February on a course near Mumbai. 

Related articles on Today's Golfer

Comments powered by

comments powered by Disqus
Signup to Today's Golfer newsletter

By signing up you agree to our Terms and conditions.

In This Issue of Today's Golfer Print

The May 2015 issue of Today's Golfer features our Masters preview. Sergio Garcia shows us his (hand written) guide to Augusta, and we have interviews with Gary Player and Bubba Watson.